St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 460 - St. Mary's County - Vehicle Laws - Prohibition on Roadway Solicitations

SUPPORT

February 4, 2025

The Honorable Marc Korman, Chairman Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 460 - St. Mary's County - Vehicle Laws - Prohibition on Roadway Solicitations

Dear Chairman Korman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>SUPPORT</u> House Bill 460 - St. Mary's County - Vehicle Laws - Prohibition on Roadway Solicitations which is being heard in the Environment and Transportation Committee.

A number of other counties – including neighboring Calvert and Charles – have identical legislation on roadside solicitations. After careful consideration, and after the urging of many of our citizens, the Commissioners of St. Mary's County ask that Transportation Article § 21-507(c) be extended to St. Mary's County as well. In light of rising traffic and the concomitant increase in the possibility of vehicular and pedestrian safety incidents, we feel it is necessary for reasons of public safety to address the issue of solicitation in roadways in this manner.

We request a favorable report on House Bill 460. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration and your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/012

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 *1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • www.stmaryscountymd.gov • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV

Cc: Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney